Sam's Life

Follow Sam Around The World

Christmas Dinner

Christmas Dinner

On Christmas morning, I was called by Dr. Safi Kaskas and told to stay home from work. He said as a Christian I should be celebrating Christmas Day–not working.

In the afternoon, Dr. Kaskas phoned to say he and some friends would be picking me up for a special Christmas dinner at a local Persian restaurant. We enjoyed lamb, chicken, steak and rice along with stuffed grape leaves.

They told me they understood that in America Christians pray before their meals. I concurred with a prayer of thanks for all my Muslim friends here. I prayed for their families and that peace will come to the Middle East and the rest of the world. I prayed that God would eliminate fear from our hearts and help us all to better understand one another as we all seek to follow Jesus—the Prince of Peace. It was a great time together.

December 26, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Very touching and inspiring! What a gracious gesture from him. This is the real Islam, tolerance, peace and harmony! I am like you, I came to Saudi 4 yrs ago, with the intention of staying a year. Here I am, 4 years later married to a Saudi and blessed with a beautiful little angel. Like you describe in another post, I was also (still am) very curious to know about things and Islam, so I starting learning about it..Read tons of books and though about things..converted after about a year of reflecting about it..I never thought these things would’ve happened when I came here 🙂 God works in mysterious ways!
    Wishing you a great time in Saudi with lots of positive experiences!

    Laylah from Blue Abaya 🙂

    Comment by Laylah | February 18, 2012 | Reply

  2. Layla, I wish my friends back home could experience what I feel here. God, indeed, works in mysterious ways! Thanks for your kind words! ~ Sam

    Comment by Sam Shropshire | February 21, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

